

Report of the Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Utah Transit Authority (UTA) held at UTA FrontLines Headquarters located at 669 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, Utah July 15, 2016

Board Members Present:

H. David Burton, Chair Robert McKinley, Vice Chair Jeff Acerson Keith Bartholomew Matthew Bell (via telephone) Necia Christensen Babs De Lay Sherrie Hall Everett Jeff Hawker Charles Henderson (via telephone) Bret Millburn Michael Romero Troy Walker (via telephone)

Board Members Excused/Not in Attendance: Justin Allen and Dannie McConkie

Also attending were members of UTA staff, as well as interested citizens and media representatives.

Welcome and Call to Order. Chair Burton welcomed attendees and called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m. with twelve voting board members present, including Trustees Bell and Walker via telephone. The board and meeting attendees then recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Safety Minute. Chair Burton yielded the floor to Dave Goeres, UTA Chief Safety and Security Officer, for a brief safety message.

At the request of Trustee De Lay, the Chair asked for a moment of silence to honor the police officers who fell in the recent shooting in Dallas and as well as the victims of the terror attack in Nice, France.

Trustee Henderson joined the meeting via telephone at 1:10 p.m.

General Public Comment Period. Andrea Packer, in the capacity of acting secretary to the board, announced the names of those who submitted a request to make public comment. Public comment was given by Tammi Diaz, George Chapman, and Claudia Johnson.

Resolution 2016-07-01: Advanced Funding for Provo-Orem Transportation Improvement Project (TRIP) Work. Trustee Burton introduced the resolution. He then yielded the floor to Jerry Benson, UTA Interim President/CEO, who displayed a timeline of decision points and public input opportunities on the Provo-Orem TRIP and spoke about the need for advancing the project at the present time. Mr. Benson then read a letter from the executive project partners signed by Teri Newell with the Utah Department of Transportation, Andrew Jackson with the Mountainland Association of Governments, Mayor John Curtis of Provo City, and Mayor Richard Brunst of Orem City. Mr. Benson then invited Provo Mayor John Curtis and Orem Mayor Richard Brunst, who were in attendance at the meeting, to speak. Both mayors spoke in support of Provo-Orem TRIP.

Public Input. Andrea Packer, in the capacity of acting secretary to the board, provided a summary of public input received in advance of the meeting indicating there were 181 unique visits to the items for comment page and 400 unique visits to the resolution comment page. In total, 147 comments were received, with 67 supporting the resolution and 80 opposing. In-person public input was given by George Chapman, Lisa Clarke, Cindy Richards, Diane Christensen, George Stewart, David Acheson, Merlin Weekes, Phillip Hinckley, Hugh Bradley, and James Fawcett.

Trustee Henderson left the meeting at 2:25 p.m.

Board Discussion and Decision/Action. Following the public input segment, discussion ensued. Questions were posed by the board and answered by staff. Trustee Christensen opined on the success of the MAX bus rapid transit (BRT) line in West Valley City.

Chair Burton paused the board discussion to allow Utah County Commissioner Larry Ellertson to address the board. Commissioner Ellertson spoke in favor of the Provo-Orem TRIP.

Following Commissioner Ellertson's comments, further discussion ensued. Chair Burton yielded the floor a second time to Commissioner Ellertson who provided insight into the

county's options relative to the issuance or non-issuance of bonds for transit projects. Discussion resumed. Chair Burton allowed Mayor Brunst to provide additional comment relative to project risk. A motion to approve the resolution was made by Trustee Walker via telephone and seconded by Trustee Millburn. The motion carried by majority consent with ten aye votes and two nay votes from Trustee De Lay and Trustee Bell.

Items for Consent. Consent items were comprised of the following:

• Approval of June 22, 2016 Meeting Report

A motion to approve the consent item was made by Trustee DeLay and seconded by Trustee Millburn. The motion carried by unanimous consent.

Other Business. No other business was discussed.

Trustee Walker left the meeting at 2:55 p.m.

Closed Session. Chair Burton indicated there were matters to be discussed in closed session relative to pending litigation. A motion to move into closed session was made by Trustee Millburn and seconded by Trustee Christensen. The motion carried by unanimous consent and the board moved into closed session at 2:52 p.m.

Open Session. A motion to return to open session was made by Trustee Everett and seconded by Trustee Millburn. The motion carried by unanimous consent and the board returned to open session at 3:05 p.m.

Action Taken Regarding Matters Discussed in Closed Session. No action was taken regarding matters discussed in closed session.

Adjournment. The meeting was adjourned at 3:05 p.m. by motion.

Transcribed by Cathie Griffiths Assistant to the President/CEO Utah Transit Authority cgriffiths@rideuta.com 801.237.1945